Skip to content

My Top Tunes & Shit

November 4, 2010

I had a great week with some great friends to some great music while having some great times.  Now those times are over and things have been going to the shitter for me lately.  I have no $$$, my trucks gone, so is my internship w/ MauiTime, blah blah blah, complain complain, & bitch.  It’s going to be a tough month but it’s going to be alright.  At least I don’t have a volcano exploding on me or a tsunami crashing on me (Indonesia) nor did I get killed for throwing eggs at a Benz (Atlanta).  So even though shit is in the dumps, all I can do is take a deep breath and do the best I can.

You think all this sorrow news would make me listen to some somber music but honestly, I rather not.  So instead here’s my Top Tunes of the past month or so.

My Top Song of more recent times has to be “Derezzed” by the one and only Daft Punk. Heard this last week on Annie Mac’s show when she played it twice in a row (it’s under 2 minutes).  Looks like another track just got released or possibly leaked but either way, it is killer!  It’s entitled “Outlands” and I think I like it even better than “Derezzed”.  One thing about Daft Punk, is that their music is addicting, infectious and mesmerizing.  It’s seriously hard to get their music out of my head after I have listened to it, even if I don’t like it!  I remember when I first heard “Around the World” in 6th grade and I absolutely couldn’t stand it, yet I would catch myself humming the tune walking back from school.  Can’t wait for this soundtrack (possibly best movie soundtrack ever?) and for them to go on tour!

Anyways listen to these short but mesmerizing songs over and over again and pre-order the soundtrack HERE.

Hit the Jump for the rest of the list.

Let’s get some electronic dance tracks out of the way.  All stellar, so listen to them if you haven’t already.

“Unleash the F**king Dada” by Dada Life // Buy

“Yeah” by Boys Noize // Buy

“Together” by Herve // Buy

“Let’s Go” by Dem Slackers // Buy

“Illmerica” by Wolfgang Gartner // Buy

Alright, now that’s over.  Let’s move on to some different music and expand our horizons.  If you haven’t downloaded the mixtape “Paradise Falls” by Mansions on the Moon presented by DJ Benzi & Diplo, please do HERE.  First of all, it’s FREE.  Second, it’s a remarkable piece of work.  It’s some chillin type music with sprinkles of dubstep, techno, & fairy dust.  They’re also sponsored by N.E.R.D. so you know they got their shit together.  I’ve been listening to it while I go to sleep, cruising the streets, or just enjoying the atmosphere.  Here’s my favorite.

“Glimpse of the Future (Xaphoon Jones Remix)”

Cool huh?  If not, your loss.

Let’s move into more sexier and soulful sounds.  I love this next song.  The original is amazing but this remix gives me that extra kick of bass that sounds so bad ass to these soothing voices.

“Stay With Me (Max Kane Slump Remix) – Al Green ft. John Legend

Next is “Fool for You” off of Cee-Lo Green‘s new album which you should already have.  Not free but worth the $$$ even though I probably shouldn’t have bought it until I fix my financial problems.  But then again, I wasn’t really worrying about that a week ago.  On another note, I was really disappointed with the additional production on “No One’s Gonna Love You”.  The music video version is much more simple which made it sooo good.  Anyways here’s

“Fool for You”

Alright, last one.  Lupe Fiasco’s “The Show Goes On”

Whew, that was long and I probably left some shit out.  Oh well, and I’m still broke.  Hmm, I wish skrilla didn’t win and that we can pay with love instead.

haha.  Until Then.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sao26 permalink
    November 7, 2010 3:47 am

    WOW you have the best music taste ever!!!!! Why are you so cool? Every song you pick is always good!! I trust that I can always find good music when I come to your site. Better than any music blog out there! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

